Indiana
QAP scoring guide.
Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority (IHCDA) · 2026-2027 QAP
Competitive scoring
Not stated in the QAP or a published scoring summary; IHCDA does not publish per-application scores alongside award announcements. The QAP itself sets 85 of 165 points as the "must clear" score for 9% competitive applications and a case-by-case floor (never below 50 points) for competitive 4%/bond/AWHTC deals — those are stated thresholds, not reported "typical winning" scores.
Select a category to read its scoring criteria.
016.1(A) Rent Restrictions
16 pts
026.1(B) Income Restrictions
3 pts
036.1(C) Additional Years of Affordability
4 pts
046.2(A) Amenities
6 pts
056.2(B) Accessible or Adaptable Units
5 pts
066.2(C) Universal Design Features
5 pts
076.2(D) Redevelopment of Vacant Structure
6 pts
086.2(E) Preservation of Existing Rental Housing
9 pts
096.2(F) Infill New Construction
6 pts
106.2(G) Development is Historic in Nature
3 pts
116.2(H) Foreclosed and Condemned Properties
3 pts
126.2(I) Internet Access
4 pts
136.2(J) Lease-Purchase
2 pts
146.2(K) Building Certification
2 pts
156.2(L) Onsite Recycling
1 pts
166.3(A) Desirable Sites
6 pts
176.3(B) Unit Production in Areas Underserved by the 9% LIHTC Program
6 pts
186.3(C) Census Tract without Active Tax Credit Projects
3 pts
196.3(D) Opportunity Index
4 pts
206.3(E) Housing Need Index
8 pts
216.3(F) 10-Year Projected Job Growth by Economic Growth Region
5 pts
226.3(G) Five-Year Actual Job Growth Percentage by County
5 pts
236.3(H) Ratio of New Jobs to Housing Permits
3 pts
246.3(I) Community Revitalization Plan for Developments Located in a QCT
2 pts
256.4(A) Leveraging Capital Resources
4 pts
266.4(B) Leveraging the READI Program
4 pts
276.4(C) Non-IHCDA Project-Based Rental Assistance
2 pts
286.4(D) Tax Credit Per Unit / Bond Volume Per Unit
4 pts
296.5(A) Certified Tax Credit Compliance Specialist
3 pts
306.5(B) Unique Features
3 pts
316.5(C) Resident Services
5 pts
326.5(D) Resident Service Coordinator for Supportive Housing
2 pts
336.5(E) Integrated Supportive Housing for Persons Experiencing Homelessness
3 pts
346.5(F) Developments from Previous Supportive Housing Institutes
3 pts
356.5(G) Eviction Prevention Plan
2 pts
366.5(H) Low-Barrier Tenant Screening
4 pts
376.5(I) Readiness to Proceed
5 pts
386.5(J) Owners Who Have Requested Release Through Qualified Contract
-4 pts
396.6(A) Indiana Bond Experience
4 pts
Indiana 2026-2027 QAP (Final v.3), Section 6 "Scoring Criteria," pp. 56-93 (in.gov/ihcda/files/2026-2027-QAP-FINAL-v.3.pdf); set-aside pool percentages from Section 4, p.11; noncompetitive-bond scoring carve-outs from companion Schedule D v.3 §D (in 2026-2027-QAP-Schedules-v16-7.17.26.zip).
Tie-breakers
Review the agency’s tie-breaker rules alongside the scoring criteria.
- No LIHTC award (4% or 9%) to that community/LUG in the past 3 years
- Lowest tax credits per unit (9% apps) or lowest bond volume per unit (4% apps)
- Lowest average rent restriction across all units
- Highest number of set-asides the application competes under
Underwriting parameters
Indiana 2026-2027 QAP (Final v.3), Part 5.2 "Underwriting Guidelines," pp. 34-37, and Part 5.3 "User Eligibility and Limitations," pp. 38-40 (in.gov/ihcda/files/2026-2027-QAP-FINAL-v.3.pdf). Bond-specific test and fee detail from the companion Schedule D v.3, "Noncompetitive Private Activity Tax-Exempt Bond Financing (25% Test)," Sections B, C and E (in 2026-2027-QAP-Schedules-v16-7.17.26.zip). Fee schedule from QAP Part 7.2, pp. 95-96.
Utility allowance
Preferred method: No single statewide default. IHCDA imposes a mandatory hierarchy by building/unit funding status: RD-assisted buildings must use the RD-approved UA; HUD-regulated buildings (e.g., Section 8 PBRA) must use the HUD-specific UA; units with HUD tenant-based assistance (Section 8 HCV) must use that PHA's UA schedule. Only buildings outside those categories get to choose freely among: the local PHA's UA schedule, IHCDA's own published county-specific UA schedule, a utility company letter, or a project-specific model (Energy Consumption Model / HUD USM / IHCDA-approved Qualified Engineer Estimate) - the latter three requiring IHCDA pre-approval, a $100 fee, and a 90-day tenant notice period.
IHCDA Utility Allowances (annual county-specific Single-Family and Multi-Family UA schedules, published separately from the QAP) ↗IHCDA Rental Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) Compliance Manual (July 2025), Part 4.4(D) "Approved Utility Allowance Sources," pp. 49-51; the 2026-2027 QAP (Sec. 6.2(I), Internet Access) cross-references this Part 4.4 rather than restating the UA menu itself.
