Vermont
QAP scoring guide.
Vermont Housing Finance Agency (VHFA) · 2024-2025 (effective 10/1/2023) — still in effect as of Aug 2026 QAP
Competitive scoring
null — not stated in the QAP, and no VHFA-published scoring summary or recent-award scoring data was located in the documents reviewed.
Select a category to read its scoring criteria.
01Site Designations
4 pts
02Project Tenancy
4 pts
03Eviction Prevention
2 pts
04Housing with Services for the Homeless
4 pts
05Deeper Affordability
3 pts
06Income Diversity
2 pts
07Permanent Debt
2 pts
08Access to Public Transportation
2 pts
09Property Remediation
2 pts
10Federally Subsidized and At-Risk
2 pts
11Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit
1 pts
12Passive House or Net Zero
1 pts
13Highly Ready-To-Proceed
1 pts
14Eventual Tenant Ownership
1 pts
15Underserved Areas
1 pts
16Community Development Experience and Unique Characteristics of a Sponsor
1 pts
VT 2024-25 QAP, Section 4 "Evaluation Criteria" — §4.1 "Bond Credits" (p.18) and §4.2 "Ceiling Credits" (pp.18-21), which lists the 16 checkmark categories. Threshold Requirements are in Section 3 (pp.11-17). Source: Signed VHFA 2024-25 Vermont Qualified Allocation Plan PDF (vhfa.org).
Underwriting parameters
VHFA Underwriting Standards (Revised October 2024; Effective January 2025) — "Debt Coverage Ratio (DCR) & Expense Coverage Ratio" (p.6), "Income/Expense Trending and Vacancy Assumptions" (p.7), "Reserve Requirements and Distributions" (p.9). Cross-referenced with VT 2024-25 QAP, Section 3.16 "Project Fees" (pp.15-17, developer fee) and Section 3.11 "Meeting Proven Market Need" (p.14, 5% market vacancy threshold for new construction). Source PDFs: vhfa.org/sites/default/files/developers/2025-VHFA-Underwriting-Standards-2410.pdf and the QAP itself.
Utility allowance
Preferred method: not specified
VHFA "Compliance Guide for the Administration of the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Program" (Sept. 2019, updated 2022), Section III(D)(8) "Utility Allowances," p. 25 (citing Treas. Reg. §1.42-10, 73 Fed. Reg. 44251, July 29, 2008). The QAP itself (both the signed 2024-25 QAP and the 2026-27 draft) contains no separate UA methodology section — it only requires the utility allowance schedule be reported annually via the compliance system (2024-25 QAP §6.3).
