"VHFA's own QAP still defines a Bond Credit deal as needing half or more of total cost in tax-exempt financing, but I keep hearing the federal test dropped to 25 percent. And when I ask where the actual gap money is, everyone points me to VHCB, not VHFA. Is the QAP just out of date, and where does the Vermont Housing and Conservation Board actually fit into a Housing Credit deal?"
VHCB, not VHFA: the actual home of Vermont's HOME and National Housing Trust Fund dollars
The Vermont Housing and Conservation Board (VHCB) is a distinct public instrumentality, not a division of VHFA. Its funding base is statutory: the Vermont Housing and Conservation Trust Fund, created under 10 V.S.A. §312, "is created a special fund in the State Treasury," administered by the Board, and "comprised of 50 percent of the revenue from the property transfer tax under 32 V.S.A. chapter 231 and any monies from time to time appropriated to the Fund by the General Assembly or received from any other source, private or public, approved by the Board." The Fund dates to 1987 (Act 88). This is a fundamentally different revenue stream from VHFA's own bond-financed and fee-based operations.
VHCB's own program materials state its role in plain terms: "VHCB administers the federal HOME Investment Partnership Program for the State of Vermont" and, separately, "VHCB administers National Housing Trust Funds for the State of Vermont." Both HOME and National Housing Trust Fund (HTF) awards for rental housing production run through VHCB, not through VHFA's Housing Credit application, and not directly through the Department of Housing and Community Development — a Sponsor assembling a Vermont capital stack needs a separate VHCB application and timeline for these dollars.
| Project / Sponsor | VHCB and federal award | Total VHCB investment | Total development cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Benn High LIHTC Limited Partnership, Bennington — 17 affordable + 22 market-rate apartments | $1,000,000 supplemental ARPA award (VHCB) | $3,006,614 | $11,598,180 |
| Riggs Meadow, Hinesburg — 36 new rental apartments | $669,092 HOME award + $922,086 National Housing Trust Fund award | $6,091,178 | $19,174,093 |
| Cornerstone Housing Partners, Three 33 Jones Drive, Brandon | $708,264 National Housing Trust Fund award | $2,821,356 | $12,452,085 |
Figures are real award examples from VHCB's own FY2025 annual report, shown to illustrate typical VHCB/HOME/NHTF layering scale — not a rate card. VHCB investment as a share of total development cost varies widely by project; do not treat any single ratio here as a rule of thumb.
HIVE: VHFA's own gap fund, and why it solves a different problem than VHCB
Housing Investment for Vermont (HIVE) is VHFA's own fund, seeded substantially through U.S. Treasury Capital Magnet Fund capital, aimed at "missing capital" gaps that traditional sources like HOME, CDBG, and National Housing Trust Fund don't reach. Its own program guidelines list "projects that are not using other types of 'gap' or subordinate financing" — specifically calling out CDBG, HOME, and NHTF — as a funding priority, positioning it as a complement to VHCB's larger federal pass-through programs rather than a substitute.
Structurally, HIVE can be deployed at four capital stages — predevelopment, acquisition, equity bridge, or subordinate permanent financing — and a single HIVE investment can convert from one stage to the next within the same deal. Depending on underwriting, VHFA will structure the loan as a standard amortizing loan, interest-only with a balloon at year 17, 30, or 40, principal-only amortized over up to 30 years, or — for projects meeting a high number of program priorities with limited financial capacity — a no-interest, non-amortizing structure payable on term expiration, refinance, or change of ownership. Sponsors request HIVE directly inside the Housing Credit or VHFA construction/permanent financing application; there is no separate HIVE application cycle.
Vermont's state Housing Tax Credit: three categories, and a Bond-Credits-only trap for the rental version
Separate from the federal LIHTC, Vermont's own Affordable Housing Tax Credit is governed by 32 V.S.A. §5930u and covers three eligible uses: Rental Housing Tax Credits, Homeownership Tax Credits, and Down Payment Assistance Tax Credits. All three are allocated by VHFA under Chapter 5 of the same QAP that governs the federal credit.
The QAP's own eligibility language for the rental category is narrow and easy to miss: "An eligible applicant is any Sponsor who has applied for and received an award of federal Bond Credits." That means the Vermont Rental Housing Tax Credit is not available to a 9% Ceiling Credit deal at all — only a 4% Bond Credit transaction can layer it in. The Homeownership Tax Credit has a separate, broader eligible-applicant definition (for-profit and nonprofit developers, plus VHFA, VHCB, and municipalities as state instrumentalities), with a purchase-price limit tied to VHFA mortgage program limits and a buyer income ceiling of 120% of the Statewide Median Income.
This state credit is distinct from the federal historic rehabilitation credit checkmark elsewhere in the QAP's Evaluation Criteria (worth one checkmark for using the credit described in IRC §47(a)(2)) — and from Vermont's own separate state historic rehabilitation program described below. All three programs can theoretically touch the same building, but each has its own eligibility rule and none of the QAP text ties them together explicitly.
The state historic rehabilitation credit — a second, separate program tied to downtown designation, not to the QAP
Vermont's Downtown and Village Center Tax Credit Program, 32 V.S.A. §5930cc (Subchapter 011J), is administered by the Agency of Commerce and Community Development, not VHFA, and requires approval by the program's state board (currently operating as the Community Investment Board) on a project-by-project basis. The statute's own text sets four separate credit categories:
| Category | Credit rate | Cap |
|---|---|---|
| Historic rehabilitation | 10% of qualified rehabilitation expenditures (as defined in 26 U.S.C. §47(c)) | No stated per-project cap in the statute itself |
| Façade improvement | 25% of qualified expenditures | $25,000 maximum credit |
| Code improvement | 50% of qualified expenditures | $12,000 (platform lift) to $100,000 (combined other code improvements), varying by improvement type |
| Flood mitigation | 50% of qualified expenditures | $100,000 maximum credit |
Quoted directly from the statute's own text, read for this research. The statute does not itself state a combined annual statewide dollar cap.
Per ACCD's own program FAQ, eligible buildings are "commercial buildings and non-profit owned buildings at least 30 years old" located within a designated downtown or village center; the same FAQ specifically confirms "rental properties are eligible" even though private residences are not. Stacked with the federal 20% rehabilitation credit, ACCD's FAQ states "the return can be as high as 70% of eligible rehabilitation expenses." Unlike the federal credit — typically monetized through a syndicated limited partnership, with recapture on sale or loss of income-producing status within five years — the FAQ states the Vermont state credit "may be sold to Vermont-based banks or insurance companies," a narrower and different transfer mechanism worth confirming with counsel before assuming it can be syndicated the same way as the federal credit.
A January 2026 legislative presentation by ACCD's Caitlin Corkins states that "in 2026, the Community Investment Board allocated $3 million in tax credits to support 33 projects in 22 Vermont communities," generating over $26 million in downtown and village center investment. This research treats the $3 million figure as a description of what the board actually allocated in 2026, per that year's testimony — not as language found in 32 V.S.A. §5930cc itself, which this research read directly and which does not state an aggregate annual dollar limit. Confirm the current-year allocation amount and competitiveness directly with ACCD before assuming it as a fixed program parameter.
Property tax relief: three different mechanisms depending on who owns the project
Vermont does not have one PILOT program for LIHTC properties — it has three separate statutory mechanisms, and which one applies depends heavily on the project's ownership structure and financing type.
First, where a public housing authority itself owns the property, 24 V.S.A. §4020 provides a full exemption: "The property of an authority is declared to be public property used for essential public and governmental purposes and such property and an authority shall be exempt from all taxes and special assessments of the State or any State public body thereof; provided however, that in lieu of such taxes or special assessments, the authority may agree to make payments to the State public body for improvements, services, and facilities furnished by such State public body for the benefit of the housing project, but in no event shall the payments exceed the estimated cost to such State public body of the improvements, services, or facilities to be so furnished." This is a housing-authority-ownership tool; most Vermont Housing Credit sponsors are private or nonprofit developers, not housing authorities, and cannot use it directly.
Second, for the more typical privately or nonprofit-owned deal, 32 V.S.A. §5404a(a)(3) authorizes "a tax stabilization agreement relating to affordable housing, which may be approved under this subdivision by the Commissioner of Taxes upon recommendation of the Commissioner of Housing and Community Affairs, provided the agreement provides either for new construction housing projects or rehabilitated preexisting housing projects and secures federal financial participation that may include projects financed with federal low income housing tax credits." This is negotiated at the municipal level but requires state sign-off — it is the closest Vermont analogue to a conventional PILOT for a typical LIHTC deal.
Third, and separately, 32 V.S.A. §5404a(a)(6) creates an automatic-by-certificate exemption limited to the education property tax: an owner of a "qualified rental unit parcel" gets an exemption of "10 percent of the grand list value of the parcel, multiplied by the ratio of square footage of improvements used for or related to residential rental purposes to total square footage of all improvements, multiplied by the ratio of qualified rental units to total residential rental units on the parcel." The exemption is triggered by a certificate the owner obtains from VHFA itself, which "shall expire upon transfer of the building, upon expiration of the rent restriction, or after 10 years, whichever first occurs," though it "may be renewed after 10 years and every 10 years thereafter if VHFA finds that the property continues to meet the requirements." This is narrower than it sounds: it reduces only the education-tax portion of a Vermont property tax bill, not municipal taxes generally, and this research also found — without fully resolving — that the statute carries a bifurcated subsection (b)(1) with a contingency-triggered amendment scheduled for July 1, 2028 affecting how the municipality's education tax liability is calculated; Sponsors relying on this exemption for a long-hold pro forma should confirm the current version directly with VHFA or counsel.
Bond financing: the QAP's stale test, and VHFA's actual current policy
For decades, a 4% Bond Credit deal had to finance at least 50% of "specified development costs" with tax-exempt private activity bonds — the so-called 50% test. The One Big Beautiful Bill Act (Pub. L. 119-21) permanently lowered that threshold to 25% of aggregate basis for buildings placed in service after December 31, 2025, amending IRC §42(h)(4)(B).
VHFA issued its own implementing policy on February 18, 2026, in a memo from Deb Flannery, Managing Director of Community Development, titled "VHFA defines policy for implementation of new federal 25% test." That memo sets VHFA's own floor above the new federal minimum: "Projects must demonstrate that at least 25% of the aggregate basis is financed by tax-exempt bonds. The private activity bond volume cap allocation by VHFA to the project must be the greater of 30% of the project's aggregate basis used to calculate the 25% Test, or the amount required for maximum permanent supportable debt on the project, subject to underwriting." The memo explains why VHFA chose to require more than the federal floor: "Vermont does not currently use all its bond volume cap so this change does not have the same effect in Vermont as in 'cap constrained' states" — meaning VHFA can afford to require a compliance buffer above 25% without running out of bond volume cap, unlike states that are volume-cap-constrained and want to stretch every dollar of cap as far as possible.
Critically, the currently effective QAP itself was never updated to reflect either change. Its own Definitions section still reads: "Bond Credits: ('Automatic Housing Credits', 'out-of-cap credits', or '4% credits') Federal Housing Credits that are available to an eligible project when half or more of a project's total cost is financed with tax-exempt financing." A Sponsor reading only the QAP's own definitions section would conclude the old 50% test still applies. It does not — VHFA's separate February 2026 policy memo is the controlling document for any bond deal financed after this research date, and the QAP text should not be relied on for this specific figure until it is formally amended.
Where this goes wrong
- Assuming VHFA administers Vermont's HOME or National Housing Trust Fund allocation. VHCB's own materials state it "administers" both programs, on VHCB's own board cycle, separate from VHFA's Housing Credit round.
- Treating the currently effective QAP's 'half or more' Bond Credits definition as still-governing law. Federal law cut this to 25% of aggregate basis for bonds issued after 12/31/2025 (One Big Beautiful Bill Act, amending IRC §42(h)(4)(B)), and VHFA's own February 18, 2026 policy memo sets a 30% floor — the QAP's own definitions section was not amended to reflect either change.
- Assuming a '2026-2027 QAP' is currently in force. As of this research, VHFA's own website still labels the plan revised 2/6/2023 (effective 10/1/2023) as the 'Current QAP'; the replacement draft the VHFA Board reviewed on June 23, 2026 is still labeled 'Draft QAP' on VHFA's site, and the draft document's own cover page reads 'Effective XXXX' rather than a confirmed, Governor-approved date.
- Assuming Vermont's state Rental Housing Tax Credit (32 V.S.A. §5930u) is available to any Housing Credit deal. The QAP restricts the eligible applicant to a Sponsor who has 'applied for and received an award of federal Bond Credits' — a 9% Ceiling Credit deal does not qualify for this state credit's rental category.
- Confusing Vermont's state Rental/Homeownership/Down Payment Assistance Housing Tax Credit (32 V.S.A. §5930u, administered by VHFA through the QAP) with the separate Downtown and Village Center historic rehabilitation credit (32 V.S.A. §5930cc, administered by ACCD outside the QAP). Different statutes, different administering bodies, different eligibility rules.
- Assuming the Downtown and Village Center historic credit's building-age and location rules mirror the federal historic credit. The state credit specifically requires the building be at least 30 years old and located in a designated downtown or village center; nonprofit-owned buildings and rental properties are explicitly eligible, but private residences are not.
- Treating the $3 million figure reported for the Downtown and Village Center credit's 2026 allocation as a hard statutory annual cap. That figure comes from a January 2026 legislative testimony describing what the Community Investment Board actually allocated that year, not from the text of 32 V.S.A. §5930cc itself, which does not state an aggregate annual dollar limit.
- Assuming a public housing authority's property tax exemption (24 V.S.A. §4020) is available to a typical privately owned LIHTC deal. That exemption applies to property owned by a housing authority; most Vermont Housing Credit sponsors would instead need the affordable-housing tax stabilization agreement under 32 V.S.A. §5404a(a)(3), which requires approval by the Commissioner of Taxes on the Commissioner of Housing and Community Affairs' recommendation.
- Assuming the 'qualified rental unit' exemption under 32 V.S.A. §5404a(a)(6) reduces a project's full property tax bill. It reduces only the education property tax grand list value, using a formula tied to rental-square-footage and qualified-unit ratios, and the VHFA-issued certificate expires after 10 years, on transfer, or on rent-restriction expiration, whichever comes first (renewable if VHFA re-confirms eligibility).
- Assuming VHFA's HIVE fund can fill a large capital-stack gap on its own. It caps requests at $500,000 per project at any single capital stage (for applications after 7/1/2023) and requires a 25:1 leverage ratio against other funding sources.
- Assuming the QAP's federal historic rehabilitation checkmark (Evaluation Criteria, IRC §47(a)(2)) and Vermont's own 10% state historic rehabilitation credit (32 V.S.A. §5930cc(a)) are the same program. They can combine on the same building, but the QAP checkmark only requires use of the federal credit.
- Assuming Vermont's state historic rehabilitation credit can be syndicated through a limited partnership the way the federal 20% credit typically is. Per ACCD's own program FAQ, the state credit "may be sold to Vermont-based banks or insurance companies" — a narrower, different transfer mechanism.
- HUD
- LIHTC
- State QAPs
- IRS § 42
- Housing Finance Agencies
