"Which of Louisiana's pools does this parish put me in, and does the QAP I'm screening against still say what I think it says?"
The QAP changed under its own cycle -- and the rewrite lands squarely on site screening
LHC published the "2025 Qualified Allocation Plan, Final as of 02-14-25" in February 2025, then amended it in place roughly eleven months later. The document currently posted on LHC's own LIHTC program page at lhc.la.gov is headed, on every page's own footer, "2025 QUALIFIED ALLOCATION PLAN ... Amended QAP as of 01-13-26." This research found no evidence LHC issued a separately numbered "2026 QAP" -- the 2025-2026 cycle's governing document is this amended-in-place 2025 QAP, so a screening tool has to match on the amendment date in the footer rather than the calendar year in the title to confirm currency. This research did not find a standalone LHC memo summarizing what the amendment changed; the differences described below were found by direct line-by-line comparison of the two PDFs.
| Feb 2025 "Final" version | Jan 2026 "Amended" version (current) |
|---|---|
| Tier 1/Tier 2 fortified-roof construction standard embedded directly in this threshold item | Moved out of this item; now a one-line acknowledgment under Appendix A's Selection Criteria threshold-acknowledgment section instead |
| New construction limited to FEMA Zone AE or lower risk only; Zones AH, AO, AR, A99, V, and VE excluded from funding consideration | No zone-by-zone exclusion list; standard is a floodplain-elevation and floodway-siting rule keyed to 44 CFR 59.1 and 24 CFR 55.2(b)(10) |
| Site plan must address whether the building footprint experienced flooding in the "2016 Great Floods" | No historical-flooding disclosure requirement in this item |
| Proposal must state the site's long-term flood risk rating from the online "Flood Factor" tool (Minimal through Extreme) | No Flood Factor disclosure requirement |
| New construction: lowest floor at least 5 feet above Base Flood Elevation (or 3 feet above the building footprint/road centerline in Zone B or X-Shaded); rehab of existing buildings in the floodplain permitted only if lowest existing floor is at least 3 feet above Base Flood Elevation | Lowest floor, including basement, at least 2 feet above Base Flood Elevation; no residential structure of any kind in a floodway |
| Wetlands narrative required: planned site- or building-level mitigation measures, a wetland mitigation plan, and an Army Corps of Engineers permit where necessary | No wetlands-mitigation or Army Corps permit narrative in this item |
A screening checklist built from the February 2025 text -- including the AE-zone-only restriction, which on its face would have excluded a large share of parcels in Louisiana's coastal parishes -- is checking against language LHC no longer states in these terms. Re-screen against the current, shorter text rather than assuming a site is disqualified on the old standard.
Eight parishes are Louisiana's "Urban" pools; the other fifty-six are Rural by exclusion -- and the split changes cost caps, not just competition
LHC divides its per-capita 9% housing credit ceiling into a Qualified Non-Profit/CHDO Set-Aside (at least 10% of the ceiling), a Rural Rehabilitation Pool, a Rural New Construction Pool, an Urban Rehabilitation Pool, an Urban New Construction Pool, a Choice Neighborhood Initiative (CNI) reservation capped at $3,000,000, and an opportunistic Elderly Housing allocation (one award targeted in Rural areas and one in Urban areas, funded only if a qualifying application is received). Both Urban pools are defined by naming the same eight parishes: Caddo, East Baton Rouge, Calcasieu, Jefferson, Lafayette, Orleans, Ouachita, and St. Tammany. The QAP does not define "Rural" or "Urban" as standalone glossary terms -- "Urban" is defined only by naming these eight parishes, and every other Louisiana parish is Rural by exclusion. This reading was not stated explicitly as an exclusion rule anywhere in the glossary itself; confirm it directly with LHC before treating it as settled for a parish that might be borderline.
| Pool | Amount |
|---|---|
| Nonprofit/CHDO | $1,500,000 |
| Rural Areas -- Rehab Sub-Pool | $2,250,000 |
| Rural Areas -- New Construction Sub-Pool | $2,250,000 |
| Urban Areas -- Rehab Sub-Pool | $2,000,000 |
| Urban Areas -- New Construction Sub-Pool | $2,000,000 |
| Choice Neighborhood Initiative (CNI) | $3,000,000 |
| Total | $13,000,000 |
These are the current cycle's per-capita pool amounts and will change as Louisiana's annual per-capita housing credit ceiling changes. LIHTCs left over in a pool for lack of qualifying applications shift first to the other pool within the same Urban/Rural category, then -- except for the Nonprofit/CHDO set-aside -- to a statewide remainder pool.
Pool also drives the per-project and per-developer caps, and the direction is easy to get backwards: the maximum LIHTCs any single project can receive on competitive selection criteria is $1,000,000 in a Rural parish versus $1,500,000 in one of the eight Metro parishes, and the per-developer cap is $2,000,000 Rural versus $3,000,000 Metro (with an absolute $3,000,000 ceiling per developer regardless of pool). Being in a Rural parish lowers the ceiling; it does not automatically make a deal easier to fund at a given size. A developer that has never been issued a Form 8609 is eligible for only one 9% award.
Basis boost eligibility reaches beyond the federal QCT/DDA map, and a parish's own award history is its own scoring line
The federal 30% basis boost for a Qualified Census Tract (QCT) or Difficult Development Area (DDA) under 26 U.S.C. § 42(d)(5)(B) is automatic and is not separately administered by the QAP. LHC's own Basis Boost Determination section adds two more categories beyond the federal defaults: a site in a federally declared disaster area, and a site in "a Census tract where the AMI meets or exceeds 100% for the area as determined by the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC)" at www.ffiec.gov -- both determined against an FFIEC dataset rather than the HUD QCT/DDA maps. This research did not independently verify the legal mechanics by which a state housing credit agency can extend basis-boost eligibility beyond the Code's own QCT/DDA/TCT categories; confirm the disaster-area and AMI-tract boost categories with LHC or counsel before underwriting to them.
Separately, Appendix A's Selection Criteria scores QCT/DDA status again, on its own terms: 2 of a possible 13 points under "Priority Development Areas and Other Preferences" go to a project in a Difficult Development Area, Qualified Census Tract, or federally/state-recognized Tribal Census Tract -- a different use of the same underlying data than the basis-boost determination, and worth keeping straight from it. The same 13-point section separately awards 2 points to a project in a parish that "has not received an award of LIHTC within the last 20 years"; the current QAP text names only four such parishes -- Grant, La Salle, St. Charles, and St. Helena. An earlier 2024 QAP workshop presentation named eight parishes in this category, so the list is shorter in the current governing document and should be reconfirmed each cycle rather than assumed static.
A third, stricter QCT-linked category sits in a different part of Appendix A entirely: the Targeted Project Type section's "Redevelopment Project" line awards up to 3 of 11 points, but only for a project in a Qualified Census Tract that is also covered by an adopted local Concerted Community Revitalization Plan -- QCT status alone does not satisfy it. A site can qualify for the plain QCT/DDA scoring line without qualifying for Redevelopment Project points, or vice versa if its revitalization plan somehow predates its QCT designation.
One glossary term is worth flagging as inactive rather than scored: the QAP defines "DELTA PARISHES" (Caldwell, Concordia, Catahoula, East Carroll, Franklin, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Pointe Coupee, Richland, Tensas, and West Carroll) but this research did not find that term used anywhere else in the document's operative eligibility or scoring text. Treat it as informational only until LHC confirms otherwise.
Location Characteristics scoring is capped at 5 points and decided by LHC's own market analyst, not the applicant
Appendix A's Location Characteristics section caps at 5 points and scores ten named services -- grocery store; fresh produce market or fruit stand in a fixed structure; hospital, doctor's office, or clinic; bank/credit union with live tellers; elementary, secondary, or post-secondary school; 4-year college, university, vocational, technical, or community college; pharmacy (not counting one inside a hospital); public transportation (shuttle services excluded); a Louisiana-licensed adult/child day care or after-school care; and a public park or a police/fire station -- one point cap per service type. Urban projects earn 1 point for a qualifying service within 1 mile and 0.5 points between 1 and 2 miles; Rural projects earn 1 point only within a 5-mile radius, with nothing beyond it.
The QAP is explicit about who decides: "Applicants who propose developments in proximity to negative neighborhood characteristics ... can submit a justification," but for Location Characteristics generally, "[e]vidence may be submitted but points will be assigned by the Market Analyst," and Appendix E states plainly that "the decision of the market analyst on location characteristics (neighborhood features) will be final." LHC compounds this by ordering market studies itself, directly from its own approved roster of disinterested analysts -- Appendix E states "Market Studies will be ordered by LHC from approved disinterested market analysts" -- rather than the applicant commissioning its own study. An applicant's own pre-application amenity count is a planning tool, not a locked-in score.
A separate Negative Neighborhood Features threshold bars new construction within a half-mile of ten named incompatible uses -- junkyard/dump, processing plants, high-voltage substations, solid waste disposal, heavy industrial, pig/chicken farm, distribution facilities, airports, salvage yard, and prisons. The QAP's own text ties this specific list to the same eight parishes used for the Urban pools (East Baton Rouge, Jefferson, Orleans, St. Tammany, Caddo, Lafayette, Calcasieu, and Ouachita), carving out an exception for towns or cities with a population of 15,000 or fewer. Exactly how this threshold is meant to apply to a Rural-pool site outside those eight parishes is not stated as plainly as the rest of the item; confirm the intended scope directly with LHC rather than assume it applies, or doesn't apply, statewide.
Louisiana's hurricane-exposure geography: named Tier parishes, and a separate statutory Coastal Zone the QAP never mentions
The QAP's own glossary defines two hurricane-exposure tiers by name, independent of FEMA flood-zone mapping: Tier 1 parishes are "considered the most vulnerable to hurricanes, storm surges, and other catastrophic weather events," and Tier 2 parishes are "still exposed to hurricanes and severe weather but are slightly less at risk than Tier 1." Projects in either tier must acknowledge, in Appendix A's threshold-acknowledgment section, that they will use fortified roofs, windows, and doors -- a state resiliency-construction commitment that sits alongside, not inside, the FEMA-based elevation and floodway rules covered in Site Control and Due Diligence.
| Tier | Parishes | Also in the 8-parish Urban pool |
|---|---|---|
| Tier 1 (most vulnerable) | Cameron, Iberia, Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Martin, St. Mary, St. Tammany, Terrebonne, Vermilion | Jefferson, Orleans, St. Tammany |
| Tier 2 (still exposed, somewhat lower risk) | Acadia, Ascension, Assumption, Calcasieu, Iberville, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, St. Charles, St. James, St. John, Tangipahoa, Washington, East Baton Rouge, West Baton Rouge | Calcasieu, Lafayette, East Baton Rouge |
The QAP's own list abbreviates one Tier 2 parish as "St. John"; Louisiana's only parish with that root name is St. John the Baptist Parish, so this research reads the two as the same parish, but the QAP text itself does not spell out the full name. Hurricane-tier status and Urban/Rural pool status are independent, crosscutting classifications -- most Tier 1 and Tier 2 parishes are in the Rural pool, and three of each tier's parishes happen to also be Urban-pool parishes.
Separate from the QAP entirely, Louisiana's State and Local Coastal Resources Management Act of 1978 (La. R.S. 49:214.21 et seq.) establishes a statutory Coastal Zone administered by the Louisiana Department of Energy and Natural Resources' Office of Coastal Management. "No person shall commence a use of state or local concern" within that zone without first obtaining a Coastal Use Permit. This is a state permitting requirement layered on top of, and independent from, both FEMA's Special Flood Hazard Area mapping and the QAP's own Tier 1/Tier 2 list -- a parcel can sit outside a FEMA flood zone and still fall inside the statutory Coastal Zone, or the reverse, and the QAP's own text does not mention the Coastal Zone or Coastal Use Permit at all. A Louisiana screen should check coastal-zone status as its own, separate step rather than assume FEMA flood-zone status covers it.
That the Coastal Zone is a live issue in LHC's own practice, even though the LIHTC-only QAP threshold text is silent on it, is corroborated by LHC's own environmental-review training materials: "Coastal Zone Management" is listed as one of the specific federal "Laws & Authorities" categories (alongside floodplain management, wetlands protection, and historic preservation) that a federally funded project's environmental review must clear once HOME, CDBG, or other federal soft funds are layered onto a LIHTC deal -- covered further in Site Control and Due Diligence.
Where this goes wrong
- Screening against the "2025 QAP Final as of 02-14-25" PDF instead of the "Amended QAP as of 01-13-26" version -- both carry the same "2025 QAP" name and both are still hosted on LHC's own site, but only the amended version is current, and the two differ substantively on the flood/resiliency threshold every site screen has to check.
- Assuming LHC issues a new numbered QAP every calendar year -- the 2025-2026 cycle runs on one amended-in-place 2025 QAP; this research found no separately numbered "2026 QAP."
- Pulling a QAP copy from novoco.com instead of lhc.la.gov's own LIHTC program page -- novoco.com has been observed serving stale or unreachable content for Louisiana; confirm the document's own footer date directly from LHC's site, especially mid-cycle after an amendment.
- Assuming Rural parishes are uniformly less valuable or less competitive than the eight Urban parishes -- Rural per-project and per-developer caps are lower ($1.0M/$2.0M vs. $1.5M/$3.0M), not higher, and Rural pools get their own dedicated Rehab and New Construction sub-pools.
- Treating the federal QCT/DDA map as the whole basis-boost picture -- LHC's own Basis Boost Determination text adds federally-declared-disaster-area and AMI-at-or-above-100% census tract categories, determined against FFIEC data, that a plain federal QCT/DDA lookup will not surface.
- Conflating the Selection Criteria's 2-point DDA/QCT/Tribal-Census-Tract line with the separate, stricter 3-point Redevelopment Project category -- the latter also requires an adopted Concerted Community Revitalization Plan, which QCT status alone does not satisfy.
- Treating the "parish without an award in 20 years" bonus-point list as fixed -- only four parishes are named in the current QAP (Grant, La Salle, St. Charles, St. Helena), fewer than an earlier 2024 workshop draft's eight, so it should be reconfirmed each cycle rather than assumed static.
- Treating "DELTA PARISHES" as an active eligibility or scoring category because it appears in the glossary -- this research did not find that term used anywhere else in the QAP's operative eligibility or scoring text.
- Assuming the Negative Neighborhood Features half-mile restriction applies uniformly statewide -- the QAP's own text ties the specific incompatible-use list to the same eight Urban-pool parishes, with a small-town/city exception, and that scoping should be confirmed directly with LHC.
- Relying on an applicant-commissioned market study or amenity count for Location Characteristics points -- LHC orders market studies itself from its own approved analyst roster, and the market analyst's decision on neighborhood-features scoring is stated to be final.
- Treating FEMA Special Flood Hazard Area status as the complete flood-risk picture for a Louisiana site -- the state's own statutory Coastal Zone, administered by LDENR's Office of Coastal Management, can trigger a separate Coastal Use Permit regardless of FEMA flood-zone designation, and the QAP text never mentions it.
- Assuming Tier 1/Tier 2 hurricane-parish status tracks the Urban/Rural pool split -- the two are independent classifications; most Tier 1 and Tier 2 parishes fall in the Rural pool even though three parishes in each tier also happen to be Urban-pool parishes.
- HUD
- LIHTC
- State QAPs
- IRS § 42
- Housing Finance Agencies
