"Virginia Housing scores my application on a 300-point scale with no separate pass/fail Threshold list the way other states publish, gives me only 48 hours to fix a defect, and then opens a public comment-and-rebuttal period before anything is final — so what actually has to be in the package by the March deadline, and what happens if I clear the point floor but still get disqualified?"
One deadline for 9%, four rolling deadlines for 4% — and a fee due before either gets read
Virginia Housing accepts competitive 9% (and Accessible Supportive Housing) applications once a year, with a Locality Notification Information (LNI) form due at least 45 days before that Application deadline; anyone filing more than five LNIs at once must first meet with Tax Credit Allocation (TCA) staff. The 4% credit paired with tax-exempt bonds runs on a rolling basis with several deadlines spread across the same calendar year, giving a bond-financed deal more flexibility on timing than the once-a-year 9% competition allows.
| Date | Milestone |
|---|---|
| January 15, 2026 | 4% Application deadline (Round 1) |
| January 26, 2026 | LNI deadline (9%) |
| March 12, 2026 | 9% Competitive and Accessible Supportive Housing Application deadline |
| May 14, 2026 | Preliminary rankings announced; comment period begins |
| May 15, 2026 | 4% Application deadline (Round 2) |
| May 21, 2026 | Comment period ends; rebuttal period begins |
| May 28, 2026 | Rebuttal period ends |
| June 11, 2026 | Final 9% rankings posted |
| June 24, 2026 | Final rankings reviewed with the Virginia Housing Board of Commissioners |
| July 1, 2026 | 4% Application deadline (Round 3) |
| Mid-July 2026 | Reservation documents mailed (Reservation Agreement, Contract to Enforce Representations, Extended Use Agreement, Gross Floor Rent Election) |
| September 24, 2026 | Allocation (Carryforward) Applications due |
| October 1, 2026 | 4% Application deadline (Round 4) |
Deadlines are all 12 p.m. ET. Source: Virginia Housing 2026 Housing Tax Credit Manual, Section 1 ("Schedule for 2026"), updated April 7, 2026.
A base $1,000 application fee applies to both 9% and 4% applications, paid via Virginia Housing's invoice portal (or by check, submitted at least three business days before the deadline) and due before the deadline — applications will not be processed until it is paid. A 4% application that requires resubmission and review within the same application round triggers an additional $2,000 fee on top of the original $1,000. Waivers of the application fee are not granted under any circumstances. All application materials, including the signed Application, self-score sheet, market study, and supporting exhibits, are submitted electronically through Virginia Housing's file-sharing platform, Procorem, following a required file-naming protocol.
Mandatory items and a 300-point floor — Virginia's version of a Threshold list
Virginia's QAP does not publish a single numbered, pass/fail Threshold section the way some other states do. Instead, baseline eligibility is spread across two places: a list of "Minimum Program Requirements" (income and rent tests, a 30-year minimum compliance commitment, energy-performance standards, a Qualified Contract waiver, and similar federal-program conditions), and a long list of "Reservation Application Mandatory Items" that must accompany the Application itself — an organizational chart naming every Principal, a Virginia State Corporation Commission certificate of good standing, a Principal's Previous Participation Certification, site control documentation limited to specific acceptable forms (a recorded deed, a qualifying ground lease, or a binding contract or option with the fee-simple owner), a market study, and a zoning certification, among others.
| Item | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Organizational chart | Names every Principal of the GP/managing member of the Owner, with entity-type-specific naming thresholds (e.g., 25%+ interest holders) |
| SCC certification | Certificate of Fact or Good Standing from the Virginia State Corporation Commission; Applicant must remain active/in good standing throughout review |
| Site control | Limited to a recorded deed, a qualifying ground lease, or a binding contract/option with the fee-simple owner — site control held by a related party intending to transfer is insufficient |
| Market study | Analyst must be a member of the National Council of Housing Market Analysts (NCHMA), per Virginia Housing's Market Study Guidelines |
| Zoning certification | From the local zoning official or a Virginia-registered professional civil engineer, no earlier than 3 months before the Application deadline |
Layered on top of these mandatory items is a single overall scoring floor: after all points are assigned, any application scoring below 300 points (200 points for developments financed with tax-exempt bonds, in an amount not requiring an allocation of credits under the chapter) is rejected outright and is not eligible for any reservation or allocation of credits. That floor is not, however, the only thing that can disqualify a scored application. Virginia Housing's own 2026 Final Rankings (updated 6/10/2026) list two applications — The Heights at Brady Square, Phases I and III — scoring 338.45 and 343.44 points respectively, well above the 300-point minimum, yet both are shown in a separate "Disqualified" section marked "Did not meet threshold requirement." The published document does not state which specific mandatory item or minimum program requirement caused the disqualification, so the precise cause cannot be confirmed from this source alone — but the example itself confirms that clearing the numeric score floor does not guarantee an application survives review.
A 48-hour cure window, then a public comment-and-rebuttal period
Virginia Housing's executive director may allow immediate correction of "minor and immaterial defects" affecting mandatory items — but not point-scoring items — and when that discretion is exercised, the Applicant gets only 48 hours (excluding weekends and legal holidays) from written notification to submit a cure. That is a materially shorter window than the multi-business-day clarification periods some other states' agencies allow. The QAP itself lists what counts as curable: a document that existed and was legally effective as of the Application deadline but was omitted from the filing; a contradiction or inconsistency in the Application, resolved with information accurate as of the deadline date; an omitted signature (unless the Application is deemed substantially incomplete); and scrivener's errors, missing notarization, or a defective signature block or legal name. Failing to respond within the 48-hour window, or responding non-responsively, draws "a negative conclusion" — denial of points in that category, or a determination that the Application does not meet threshold.
Even a clean, fully cured Application is not final once preliminary rankings post. Virginia Housing's 2026 calendar shows preliminary rankings announced May 14, immediately opening a public comment period running through May 21, followed by a rebuttal period running through May 28 — all before final rankings are posted June 11 and reviewed with the Board of Commissioners on June 24. Secondary reporting on earlier rounds (Virginia Housing does not appear to publish a standalone procedural rule for this specific mechanism in either the QAP or the Manual sections reviewed for this guide) describes the comment period as open to comments on any application's scoring or its feasible credit amount, with a rebuttal period afterward for the affected applicant to respond — a real, competitive-review step that can change outcomes between the preliminary and final rankings, though this guide could not confirm the exact procedural rules (who may file a comment, required format, page limits) from a primary Virginia Housing document.
Eleven pools, one At-Large backstop, and how tight the 2026 round actually was
Virginia does not rank every application against every other application statewide. The QAP divides the year's total credit authority into pools by sponsor type, project type, and geography, and an application is scored and ranked only against the other applications competing in its own pool.
| Pool | Share of credit authority |
|---|---|
| Nonprofit Pool | 15.00% |
| Local Housing Authority (LHA) Pool | 15.00% |
| New Construction Pool | 15.00% (of the following year's Annual Credit Authority) |
| Northern Virginia / Planning District 8 (Inner Washington MSA) Pool | 18.02% |
| Northwest / North Central Virginia Area Pool | 9.20% |
| Richmond MSA Pool | 11.63% |
| Tidewater MSA Pool | 17.00% |
| Balance of State Pool (remaining geographic areas) | 14.15% |
| Accessible Supportive Housing (ASH) Pool | Up to 10% of the following year's Annual Credit Authority (non-elderly developments only) |
| Preservation Pool (new for 2025) | Up to 10% of the following year's Annual Credit Authority |
| At-Large Pool | Draws unfunded applications from Pools 1, 2, and 4–8 |
Unfunded Nonprofit Pool and New Construction Pool applications move automatically to their applicable geographic pool rather than being rejected outright; unfunded LHA Pool applications move to the At-Large pool.
Virginia Housing's own 2026 Final Rankings document (marked, in its own footnote, as "subject to Virginia Housing Board approval") shows real competitive spreads within pools — the Nonprofit Pool's twelve scored applications ranged from 495.07 down to 336.64 points before the pool's available credits ran out partway through that list — illustrating that the effective bar to actually win credits in a given pool and year is set by that year's competition, not by the QAP's flat 300-point floor.
Where this goes wrong
- Assuming Virginia runs a single annual competitive round the way many states do. Only the federal 9% credit is a once-a-year competition (mid-March); the 4% credit paired with tax-exempt bonds is accepted on a rolling basis with multiple deadlines spread across the year (four in 2026).
- Missing the Locality Notification Information (LNI) deadline. It is due at least 45 days before the Application deadline — not at the Application deadline itself — and anyone submitting more than five LNIs must first meet with TCA staff.
- Treating the $1,000 application fee as covering a 4% resubmission for free. A 4% application requiring resubmission and review within the same round triggers an additional $2,000 fee on top of the original $1,000.
- Assuming a market study can be prepared by any licensed appraiser or analyst. Virginia Housing's own Manual requires the analyst to be a member of the National Council of Housing Market Analysts (NCHMA).
- Treating Virginia's 300-point (200-point for tax-exempt bond deals) minimum score as the only thing that can disqualify an application. Virginia Housing's own 2026 final rankings show two applications scoring well above that floor (343.44 and 338.45) still marked "Did not meet threshold requirement" — the specific mandatory-item failure was not stated in the published document.
- Assuming Virginia's cure process resembles other states' multi-day clarification windows. Virginia Housing gives applicants only 48 hours (excluding weekends and legal holidays) from notification to cure a defect, and only for a defined list of minor, immaterial items — not for missing threshold-level documents or point-item defects.
- Assuming an application's preliminary ranking is effectively final once posted. Preliminary rankings open a public comment period, followed by a rebuttal period, before Virginia Housing's Board of Commissioners reviews and the agency posts final rankings — a real competitive-review step, even though this guide could not locate a fully codified procedural rule for it in the QAP or Manual text reviewed.
- Assuming every pool competes for the same pot of credits on the same terms. Virginia Housing divides annual credit authority into eleven separate pools by sponsor type, project type, and geography, plus an At-Large pool for unsuccessful applications — an applicant's real competition is only the other applications in its own pool.
- Assuming a nonprofit or new-construction development that loses its own pool is simply rejected. Unfunded Nonprofit Pool and New Construction Pool applications move automatically to their applicable geographic pool (and, from there, potentially into At-Large) rather than being disqualified outright.
- Assuming Virginia's QAP itself lists a numbered, pass/fail Threshold checklist the way some other states' plans do. Virginia folds baseline eligibility into separate "Minimum Program Requirements" and "Reservation Application Mandatory Items" sections plus a single overall minimum-score cutoff, not one enumerated Threshold section.
- HUD
- LIHTC
- State QAPs
- IRS § 42
- Housing Finance Agencies
