Skip to content

Program election (9% vs. 4% vs. hybrid) — Michigan

Phase 4 of 11

"MSHDA runs 9% competitive rounds, a 4%/bond track, and now a brand-new state Housing Opportunity Tax Credit — how do these actually fit together, and does the new state credit change which program I should elect?"

Not yet coveredAbout 3 months from a competitive Funding Round Due Date to Expected Award Notification on the 9% track (Oct. 1, 2025 due / Jan. 2026 notification; Apr. 1, 2026 / Jul. 2026; Oct. 1, 2026 / Jan. 2027; Apr. 1, 2027 / Jul. 2027), then roughly a year to 10% Certification and up to two years to Placed in Service. A bond-financed 4% deal is not tied to this competitive calendar. The Michigan Housing Opportunity Tax Credit's first award cycle does not begin until January 1, 2027, with twice-yearly Jan.-Mar. and Jul.-Sept. application windows thereafter.

One QAP, two federal credit tracks, and a dollar-cap exemption for bond deals

MSHDA's 2026-2027 Qualified Allocation Plan — approved by Governor Whitmer on July 9, 2025 "pursuant to Section 42(m) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, and Section 22(b)(4) of P.A. 346 of 1966, as amended" — runs the federal 9% competitive credit and the federal 4% credit paired with tax-exempt bonds through a single document, the way most states do. What is distinctive is Section II of the QAP itself: "In accordance with Section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), tax-exempt bond financed projects are subject to the QAP other than the LIHTC allocation limits and requirements from which they are expressly excepted." That single sentence carves 4%/bond deals out of the QAP's own per-project and per-Principal dollar ceilings — ceilings that apply to 9% deals specifically.

MSHDA's 2026-2027 competitive 9% funding rounds
RoundApprox. share of annual ceilingFunding Round Due DateExpected Award Notification
October 2025~43% of 2026 ceilingWednesday, October 1, 2025January 2026
April 2026~42% of 2026 ceilingWednesday, April 1, 2026July 2026
October 2026~43% of 2027 ceilingThursday, October 1, 2026January 2027
April 2027~42% of 2027 ceilingThursday, April 1, 2027July 2027

2026-2027 QAP, Section V.A and Section VI. Each applicant must apply in exactly one Primary Category: Preservation (10% of ceiling, Rural minimum 35% of that category), Permanent Supportive Housing (21%), Open Urban (28%), or Open Rural (16%); an applicant may additionally apply in the Optional Strategic Investment Category (15%); MSHDA separately holds back 10% as Undesignated Credit to fill statutory set-asides.

The QAP's own allocation limits apply to the 9% competitive track: a maximum award per project of $1,650,000 for Open Urban or Urban-located PSH projects, or $1,500,000 for all others, and a maximum annual award per Principal of $3,300,000 (co-developers split this cap by their percentage share of the developer fee). An Emerging Developer project raises that Principal's cap by $300,000 per Emerging Developer project awarded in the credit year. None of this applies to a tax-exempt bond-financed 4% deal — which is precisely why scale, not just credit percentage, is a real driver of the 9% vs. 4% election in Michigan: a competitive 9% award is capped near $1.5-1.65 million no matter how large the project, while a bond-financed deal is not bound by that ceiling at all.

The 4%/9% Mixed Transaction: Michigan's real hybrid structure

Michigan's own term for the "hybrid" structure is the "4%/9% Mixed Transaction," and it is governed by a standalone document — LIHTC Allocation Policy #1, "4%/9% Mixed Transaction Guidance" (updated October 2023) — rather than the QAP's main body. The policy is explicit that it is guidance, not a binding rule: "the purpose of this memorandum is to help communicate some information on potential structures and is not intended to in any way impose requirements or guidelines or to bind MSHDA to a certain structure," and "MSHDA staff will have the sole discretion to determine whether a development can proceed as a 4%/9% Mixed Transaction Development."

The structural expectation is real, though: "Developments that are proposing a 4% LIHTC component and a 9% LIHTC component should be structured as two separate transactions with two separate and distinct ownership entities or two separate and distinct condominiums," specifically "to ensure that the 9% LIHTC component is separate from and not somehow tainted by the 4% LIHTC component." Where both components sit in the same building under a condominium regime, the policy anticipates "a proportional allocation of costs" between them, and flags that an applicant seeking MSHDA direct lending on the 4% portion "will be required to pursue MSHDA financing on the 9% portion in order to avoid multiple lenders financing the same building." An applicant proposing a Mixed Transaction must submit a narrative, a preliminary 4% LIHTC Direct Lending pro forma, a preliminary 9% Program Application, a preliminary self-score, an ownership chart for both components, and a preliminary timeline — all by the "4%/9% Mixed Transaction Level 1 Review Due Date" that precedes every competitive Funding Round Due Date in the QAP's own timeline (Section V.A).

The scoring worksheet reaches back into this structure directly: the Cost Reasonableness with Credit Efficiency item states that "projects that have received MSHDA approval to move forward as a 4%/9% Mixed Transaction will be eligible to include the total LIHTC units that are being created/rehabbed between the 9% portion and the 4% portion of the transaction," while limiting the credit amount entered to "only the amount of LIHTC that is being requested as part of the competitive funding round." In other words, a Mixed Transaction can spread its unit count across both components for the efficiency test even though only the 9% credit amount counts on the cost side of that same calculation.

Gap financing structurally favors 4%/bond deals — and actively screens preservation deals away from 9%

Before a preservation project may even apply for 9% credit, the QAP requires MSHDA to determine that the project is unlikely to be competitive under MSHDA's own Direct Lending Gap Financing Program: "an applicant will not be able to submit a preservation project for 9% LIHTC unless MSHDA has determined the project is unlikely to be competitive in the Gap Financing Program" (Exhibit II.II), based on "the financial viability of a project," "the overall capacity and experience of the development team," and primarily "a project's soft to hard debt ratio." That screen is waived only for existing USDA Rural Development 515-financed preservation projects of 49 units or fewer. The practical effect is that MSHDA does not let a preservation deal simply choose 9% — it first has to fail an eligibility test for the gap-financing alternative.

That gap-financing alternative is, by its own eligibility rule, a 4%/bond program, not a 9% one. MSHDA's HOME/MRF Gap Financing Program makes roughly $40 million a year available statewide, combining HUD HOME funds (at 1% simple interest) with MSHDA's own Mortgage Resource Fund (at 3% simple interest) as subordinate loans on roughly 50-year terms — but participation requires the applicant to also close tax-exempt bond permanent financing. A 9% competitive deal, which by definition is not bond-financed, cannot pair with this soft money at all. This research corroborated the program's structure and general terms through MSHDA's published HOME/MRF Gap Financing Program NOFA materials, but could not re-download the specific document governing the currently open funding round during this research pass (the linked filenames MSHDA has published for past rounds return errors once superseded); confirm the live round's dollar amount, interest rates, and term directly against MSHDA's current NOFA before underwriting to these figures.

A separate PSH Gap Financing Program serves permanent supportive housing specifically, blending MSHDA's HOME-ARP allocation, its own Housing and Community Development Fund (HCDF), and repurposed COVID Emergency Rental Assistance (CERA) dollars into subordinate loans, also generally at 1% simple interest on roughly 50-year terms, with HCDF/CERA funding tied to the share of the area's population below 40% AMI and HOME-ARP units restricted to 30% AMI. Because PSH is its own Primary Category (21% of the annual ceiling) rather than an add-on to Preservation, a PSH deal's access to this soft money is not gated by the same 9%-competitiveness screen described above — but the same currency caveat applies: confirm current terms against MSHDA's live PSH Gap Financing NOFA.

~$40M/year statewide; HOME loans at 1% simple interest + MRF loans at 3% simple interest; subordinate, ~50-year terms; requires the project to also close tax-exempt bond permanent financingHOME/MRF Gap Financing Program
Blends HOME-ARP, MSHDA's own HCDF, and repurposed CERA dollars; ~1% simple interest, ~50-year subordinate termsPSH Gap Financing Program
A preservation project must first be found unlikely to compete for Gap Financing before it may apply for 9% credit (waived only for USDA RD 515 deals of 49 units or fewer)Preservation-to-9% eligibility screen

The federal bond test: no MSHDA-specific number, and no OBBBA guidance found

A direct text search of the current 2026-2027 QAP found no mention of "aggregate basis," no restated percentage such as "50 percent" or "25 percent" tied to bond financing, and no reference to the One Big Beautiful Bill Act or Public Law 119-21 anywhere in the document. Unlike Colorado, whose regulator has published its own stakeholder guidance and PAB Fund Overview implementing a phased administrative cap tighter than either the old or new federal test, or Georgia, whose QAP states a flat 30% ceiling in its own threshold criteria, this research found no MSHDA-published bulletin, policy statement, or QAP provision addressing the federal aggregate-basis test at all — old (50%) or new (OBBBA's 25% alternative, available where at least 5% of aggregate basis is financed with bonds issued after December 31, 2025, per 26 U.S.C. §42(h)(4)(B) as amended by Pub. L. 119-21, §70422(b)(1)). Absent such guidance, the federal test appears to govern a Michigan bond deal directly, without an MSHDA-specific overlay — but confirm this directly with MSHDA and bond counsel before underwriting a 2026-vintage deal to either percentage, since the absence of a public MSHDA position is not the same as a confirmed absence of MSHDA practice.

The Michigan Housing Opportunity Tax Credit: real, new, and not yet reflected in the QAP

Michigan does have a real state companion credit — the Housing Opportunity Tax Credit (HOTC) — but it is not the program an earlier internal note called "MIHP"; no such program exists. HOTC was created by Senate Bill 966 of 2026, tie-barred with House Bills 5806 and 5807, which added Section 22e to the State Housing Development Authority Act of 1966 (now MCL 125.1422e). Governor Whitmer signed the package on July 21, 2026, with immediate effect. Because the current 2026-2027 QAP was approved by the Governor more than a year earlier, on July 9, 2025, HOTC appears nowhere in the QAP's text — a direct search confirms it. The statute directs MSHDA to accept HOTC applications "in conjunction with applications received under section 22b" (MSHDA's existing federal-credit-ceiling authority), but this research found no MSHDA-published policy bulletin, NOFA, or QAP amendment implementing HOTC as of this research date; the program's first award cycle does not begin until January 1, 2027, so a full second QAP-style rulebook may not yet exist.

HOTC is a nonrefundable credit against an "applicable tax" — Michigan's personal income tax, corporate income tax, or the insurance premiums tax — not a certificate that gets sold on an open secondary market. MSHDA issues an "approval notice" reserving the credit, then, after the owner submits a final cost certification, an "eligibility statement" that fixes the amount claimable each year of the credit period. If the owner is a flow-through entity, the statute allows the credit to be allocated among its members "in any manner agreed to by its members, regardless of whether that member is allocated or allowed any portion of any federal low-income housing tax credit with respect to the same qualified project" and regardless of whether the allocation has substantial economic effect under IRC §704(b) — mechanically similar to how the federal credit passes through to a syndicated investor, though it is a separate state-law allocation, not the federal credit itself.

The credit period is only 6 calendar years from the year a building is placed in service, against the federal credit's 10-year period, and the statute explicitly turns off the federal first-year stub-period rule ("the special rule for the first year of the credit period under section 42(f)(2) of the internal revenue code does not apply"). The annual amount MSHDA may approve is capped at the lesser of (a) the amount necessary for the project's financial feasibility, or (b) the "adjusted annual federal credit amount," defined as "1/6 of the aggregate amount of the federal credit allocated to a qualified project on federal income tax form 8609 over its federal credit period." Because that formula divides the same 10-year aggregate federal credit by 6 rather than 10, the statutory ceiling on the annual HOTC payment is mathematically larger, dollar for dollar, than a proportional "60% of the annual federal credit" shortcut would suggest — a real modeling detail, not a rounding nuance, since it affects how much annual state-credit equity a deal can actually raise per year even though it is paid out over fewer years.

HOTC set-asides of the award cycle cap (MCL 125.1422e(4))
Set-asideShareNotes
DiscretionaryUp to 50%To any qualified project (9% or 4%) at MSHDA's discretion
4% new constructionNot less than 25%Reviewed first-come, first-served within each application window
4% preservationNot less than 25%Reviewed first-come, first-served within each application window
Rural (of the above three)Not less than 30%"Rural area" defined in the statute itself as a city/village/township of 35,000 or less population, or an area USDA/Census designates rural — not stated as identical to the QAP's own Rural/Urban classification via the USDA RD Multifamily Mapping Tool

MCL 125.1422e(4), (9)(z). For the 2027 award cycle, the base annual cap is $42,000,000, adjusted by the U.S. Consumer Price Index in later award cycles; unused capacity and recaptured credit amounts carry forward into the following award cycle's cap.

Applications for 4% qualified projects are reviewed "on a first-come, first-served basis" within twice-yearly application windows (January 1-March 31 and July 1-September 30) — not scored against the QAP's Scoring Criteria. Only if a single day's applications exceed the remaining set-aside does MSHDA have to build an evaluation methodology, and even then the statute limits that methodology "to factors that maximize efficient unit production": requested credit per unit, number of units, and estimated development timeline. The statute also directs MSHDA to "give preference to qualified projects that use building components during construction or rehabilitation that are manufactured in this state" — echoing, in a new state-tax-credit context, the QAP's own long-standing "Michigan Products" threshold requirement (Exhibit I.XXII).

Where this goes wrong

  • Treating "9% vs. 4%" as a simple binary — Michigan has a real, named hybrid structure (the "4%/9% Mixed Transaction"), governed by its own LIHTC Allocation Policy #1, that requires separate ownership entities or a condominium regime and is subject to MSHDA's sole discretion to permit at all.
  • Assuming the QAP's $1,500,000-$1,650,000 per-project and $3,300,000 per-Principal caps apply to every deal — Section II of the QAP expressly exempts tax-exempt bond-financed (4%) projects from "the LIHTC allocation limits."
  • Assuming a Preservation-category applicant can simply choose 9% credit — the QAP requires MSHDA to first determine the project is unlikely to be competitive under the Gap Financing Program (waived only for USDA RD 515 deals of 49 units or fewer), actively steering marginal preservation deals toward the bond track.
  • Assuming MSHDA's HOME/MRF Gap Financing soft money (~$40M/year) is available to a competitive 9% deal — participation requires the project to also close tax-exempt bond permanent financing, which structurally limits it to 4% deals.
  • Restating the federal aggregate-basis bond test as a flat 50% or the new 25% OBBBA alternative without checking Michigan's own position — this research found no MSHDA QAP language or published bulletin stating either number or implementing OBBBA at all; confirm current guidance directly with MSHDA and bond counsel.
  • Confusing the Michigan Housing Opportunity Tax Credit with a marketable, sellable "certificate" credit — MCL 125.1422e allocates it through an owner-held eligibility statement that may be shared among a flow-through entity's investor members, similar in mechanism to the federal credit's investor allocation, not sold on an open secondary market.
  • Looking for HOTC anywhere in the current 2026-2027 QAP — the QAP was approved on July 9, 2025, more than a year before the enacting statute (2026 PA 23) was signed on July 21, 2026; the QAP is silent on HOTC entirely, and no MSHDA policy bulletin or NOFA implementing it had been published as of this research.
  • Treating the HOTC statute's own "rural area" definition (population 35,000 or less, or a USDA/Census rural designation) as identical to the QAP's Rural/Urban classification method (the USDA RD Multifamily Mapping Tool) when sizing the HOTC's 30% rural set-aside — the two definitions are not stated the same way, and this research could not confirm they resolve to the same parcels.
  • Assuming the HOTC's 6-year credit period is simply a smaller, proportional version of the federal credit — because the annual cap is 1/6 (not 1/10) of the aggregate 10-year federal credit, the same total federal-credit dollar amount supports a larger allowable annual HOTC payment than a naive percentage shortcut would suggest.
  • Assuming a Mixed Transaction needs no special ownership planning — LIHTC Allocation Policy #1 expects two separate ownership entities or a condominium structure specifically to prevent the 4% component from "tainting" the 9% component, with proportional cost allocation and MSHDA's sole discretion over whether the structure is permitted at all.

At a glance

Current governing QAP
2026-2027 QAP, approved by Governor Whitmer July 9, 2025, per Section 42(m) IRC and Section 22(b)(4) of 1966 PA 346
Competitive 9% rounds
October 2025 (~43% of 2026 ceiling), April 2026 (~42%), October 2026 (~43% of 2027 ceiling), April 2027 (~42%) — split among Preservation (10%), PSH (21%), Open Urban (28%), Open Rural (16%), plus optional Strategic Investment (15%) and 10% Undesignated
9% allocation limits (exempt for bond/4% deals)
$1,650,000/project (Open Urban or Urban-located PSH) or $1,500,000/project (all others); $3,300,000/Principal annually (+$300,000 per Emerging Developer project)
4%/9% Mixed Transaction
MSHDA's own hybrid structure, governed by LIHTC Allocation Policy #1 (updated October 2023); requires separate ownership entities or a condominium regime and MSHDA's sole discretion
Preservation-to-9% eligibility screen
MSHDA must find a preservation project unlikely to compete for Gap Financing before it may apply for 9% credit (waived only for USDA RD 515 deals ≤ 49 units)
HOME/MRF Gap Financing Program
~$40M/year statewide; HOME loans at 1% simple interest + Mortgage Resource Fund loans at 3% simple interest, subordinate, ~50-year terms; requires the project to also close tax-exempt bond permanent financing
PSH Gap Financing Program
Blends HOME-ARP, MSHDA's own Housing and Community Development Fund (HCDF), and repurposed CERA dollars; ~1% simple interest, ~50-year subordinate terms
Federal bond-financing test in Michigan's QAP
Not restated at any percentage anywhere in the current QAP text; no MSHDA-published OBBBA implementation guidance found in this research
Michigan Housing Opportunity Tax Credit (HOTC)
MCL 125.1422e, added by 2026 PA 23 (Senate Bill 966, tie-barred with House Bills 5806-5807); signed by Governor Whitmer with immediate effect July 21, 2026
HOTC size and timing
Base annual award-cycle cap $42,000,000 for the 2027 cycle (first cycle), CPI-adjusted thereafter; awards begin January 1, 2027; 6-calendar-year credit period from placed-in-service vs. the federal credit's 10-year period
HOTC annual amount formula
Lesser of (a) the amount necessary for financial feasibility, or (b) 1/6 of the project's aggregate federal Form 8609 credit over its 10-year federal credit period
HOTC set-asides
Up to 50% discretionary (any qualified project); not less than 25% each to 4% new construction and 4% preservation; not less than 30% of those three amounts to rural-area projects (statute's own population/USDA/Census-based definition)
HOTC claim mechanism
Nonrefundable credit against Michigan personal income tax, corporate income tax, or the insurance premiums tax; issued via an MSHDA eligibility statement, allocable among flow-through-entity investor members — not a certificate sold on a secondary market
HOTC review of 4% applications
First-come, first-served within twice-yearly application windows (Jan.-Mar. and Jul.-Sept.), not scored — unless a single day's applications exceed the set-aside, triggering an efficiency-based MSHDA evaluation methodology

Governing authority

  • QAP approval date and statutory basis2026-2027 QAP, Governor's Approval Letter (July 9, 2025); Section 42(m), Internal Revenue Code; Section 22(b)(4), 1966 PA 346
  • Funding rounds, Primary/Optional Categories, allocation limits, and bond-deal exemption from allocation limits2026-2027 QAP, Sections II, V, VI, Section V.G
  • 4%/9% Mixed Transaction structuring guidanceMSHDA LIHTC Allocation Policy #1, "4%/9% Mixed Transaction Guidance" (Updated October 2023)
  • Cost Reasonableness with Credit Efficiency treatment of Mixed Transactions2026-2027 LIHTC Scoring Criteria, Section F
  • Preservation category's Gap Financing Program eligibility screen2026-2027 QAP, Section V.C.1; Exhibit II.II
  • HOME/MRF and PSH Gap Financing Program termsMSHDA HOME/MRF Gap Financing Program NOFA; MSHDA Permanent Supportive Housing (PSH) Gap Financing Program NOFA (confirm current round directly with MSHDA)
  • Federal aggregate-basis bond test and OBBBA's 25% alternative26 U.S.C. §42(h)(4)(B), as amended by Pub. L. 119-21, §70422(b)(1) (2025)
  • Housing Opportunity Tax Credit — enactment, mechanics, credit period, set-asides, and definitionsMCL 125.1422e, added by 2026 PA 23, Imd. Eff. July 21, 2026 (Senate Bill 966 of 2026, tie-barred with House Bills 5806-5807)
  • HOTC program announcement and administrationOffice of Governor Gretchen Whitmer, press release, "Governor Whitmer Signs Bills to 'Build, Baby, Build' More Homes Across Michigan" (July 21, 2026)
  • MSHDA's existing federal-credit-ceiling authority referenced by the HOTC statuteMCL 125.1422b

See this phase modeled on your own site

Book a demo and we'll walk through it live, or get a quote for your team.