Skip to content

Site control and due diligence — Oklahoma

Phase 2 of 11

"We have a signed contract on this Oklahoma site -- does that satisfy OHFA's Readiness to Proceed Threshold, and why can't we find an environmental review requirement anywhere in the checklist?"

Not yet coveredSite Control has to be evidenced "at the time of Application" -- by whichever of OHFA's two fixed 2026 deadlines the Development is targeting (3:00 p.m. CST, January 22, 2026, or June 25, 2026) -- but neither the 2026 Application Instructions nor the Chapter 36 Rules spell out how long Site Control must remain in force afterward, through Carryover or Final Application, the way some other states' QAPs do. The other due-diligence documents run on their own independent clocks measured backward from Application submission: a market study no more than twelve months old (or an eighteen-month update letter on resubmission), an acquisition/rehabilitation appraisal no more than twelve months old, and a Capital Needs Assessment no more than eighteen months old, with updates expressly not allowed.

Readiness to Proceed bundles Site Control, zoning, and preliminary plans into one Threshold item

Threshold Criteria item 7, Readiness to Proceed, requires Applicants to "document their ability to proceed in a timely manner should they receive an award of AHTCs," and lists four documentation requirements together in one place: Site Control; for Acquisition/Rehabilitation, the current and year-to-date operating statements plus a current independent MAI appraisal (an appraiser operating in the State of Oklahoma, prepared no more than twelve months before Application); preliminary floor plans and site plans; and zoning documentation. The QAP's own list of acceptable Site Control instruments is narrow and specific: "Site Control evidenced by deed, purchase contract, option to purchase, or lease for a term which exceeds the term of affordability and is not revocable by seller. The costs must be identified for the purchase of the property."

The Chapter 36 Rules (330:36-1-4, Definitions) define the term more precisely and give OHFA the last word on whether it's been met: "'Site Control' means the exercise of dominion or Control over the property through the execution of a purchase, sale, or long-term lease agreement (with a lease term that exceeds the Extended Use Period), receipt of a deed or conveyance of the Land where the Development will be located, or an option to purchase the property (where the option is not revocable on the part of the seller). OHFA alone will decide if an Applicant or Owner has obtained Site Control." The same Rules section (330:36-4-2(b)(7)) lists Readiness to Proceed factors as including, but "not limited to," Site Control, preliminary plans or specifications, and proper zoning -- meaning OHFA retains discretion to weigh other readiness factors beyond the three the current Application Instructions actually list.

What the QAP does not specify, in either the Application Instructions or the Rules text reviewed for this research, is how long Site Control has to remain valid after Application submission -- there is no clause comparable to a requirement that control run "through the end of the calendar year" or through a specific later milestone such as Carryover Allocation or Final Application. Because the underlying instrument itself (a non-revocable option, or a lease exceeding the Extended Use Period) is generally built to last well past Application by its own terms, this may be a practical non-issue in most deals -- but it is a genuine gap in the text rather than an assumption resolved here, and Applicants relying on a shorter-term contract or option should confirm directly with OHFA's Housing Development staff whether and how Site Control must be maintained through Carryover and Final Application.

What OHFA does not require: no Phase I, no floodplain, no wetlands review, anywhere in the QAP or the Rules

This research searched the full text of the 2026 Application Instructions and the Chapter 36 Rules (Title 330, Chapter 36) for the terms "environmental," "Phase I," "floodplain," "flood plain," "wetland," and "NEPA," and for cross-references to HUD's environmental review regulations at 24 CFR Part 58 or Part 50. None of these terms or citations appears anywhere in either document. Unlike states whose QAPs build a Phase I Environmental Site Assessment, a floodplain determination, or a wetlands screen directly into the Threshold Criteria, Oklahoma's AHTC program imposes no state-administered environmental due-diligence requirement of its own at all.

The only language in the QAP that touches the subject is a general pass-through clause in Attachment C, Program Underwriting Standards: "If a lender, syndicator, or other program has more stringent requirements for any of these criteria, those must be satisfied as well [as] OHFA's requirements. Documentation from the source must be provided at the time of Application." In practice, this means environmental due diligence on an Oklahoma AHTC deal -- a Phase I ESA, a flood-zone determination, a wetlands delineation -- is driven entirely by whatever the construction lender, permanent lender, or tax credit syndicator independently requires as a condition of their own financing, not by anything OHFA's Threshold Criteria demand as a condition of the Tax Credit award itself.

A separate, federal trigger can still apply on top of that: Executive Order 11988 and HUD's floodplain-management regulations at 24 CFR Part 55 govern any development that also draws HUD-administered federal funds, and the AHTC Application Form's own funding-source checklist lists "OHFA HOME," "Other/City HOME," "CHDO Proceeds," and "RHS Loan" alongside the Tax Credit request as boxes an Applicant may check. A Development layering in OHFA-administered HOME funds or another federally assisted source should expect that source's own environmental review requirements to apply -- but this research did not independently verify OHFA's own HOME program materials to confirm exactly how or when that review is triggered relative to the AHTC Application timeline, and that should be confirmed directly with OHFA's HOME program staff for any HOME-layered deal rather than assumed from the AHTC QAP alone.

Acquisition/rehabilitation due diligence: the ten-year rule, the "as is" appraisal, and a Capital Needs Assessment that can't be updated

Threshold Criteria item 5, Acquisition Credits, requires an opinion of independent legal counsel confirming the building was acquired by purchase, that at least ten years passed between the date of acquisition and the date the building was last placed in service, and that the building was not previously placed in service by the taxpayer or a related person -- "this does not apply to federally or State Assisted Building and any Building assisted, financed, or operated by HUD or USDA/RHS," and the opinion must confirm compliance with Code Section 42(d)(2)(B) or that an IRS waiver has been obtained.

Attachment C caps what that acquisition can actually cost for credit purposes: "For acquisition/substantial rehabilitation properties, OHFA shall limit the acquisition price upon which Tax Credits are Allocated to the 'as is' appraised value of the property" -- the same MAI appraisal (Oklahoma-operating appraiser, no more than twelve months old) required under Readiness to Proceed does double duty as the basis-limiting document here.

Rehabilitation deals separately require a Capital Needs Assessment: "a qualified professional's opinion of a property's current physical condition determined after a physical inspection of the interior and exterior of the units and structures," covering site conditions (topography, drainage, pavement, utilities), structural systems, interior finishes, and mechanical systems, prepared by an independent third-party architect, engineer, or contractor "no more than eighteen (18) months prior to Application submission. Updates are not allowed." The CNA must also demonstrate the need for the rehabilitation work at the scope proposed, include a third-party review of proposed rehabilitation costs, and note an interview with onsite personnel or the owner. Any Development with existing tenants separately needs a complete tenant income audit identifying every current tenant's income and flagging any over the applicable limits, plus a relocation plan (with costs reflected in the Development budget) if relocation is needed during rehabilitation. A minimum rehabilitation investment threshold also applies: "no less than $30,000 in hard costs per unit or hard costs of at least twenty percent (20%) of Eligible Basis, whichever is greater" -- a below-threshold rehab scope risks being treated as cosmetic rather than substantial.

Financial feasibility due diligence runs on the same Threshold, in parallel with the site work

Threshold Criteria item 6, Financial Feasibility and Viability, requires firm financing commitments for 100% of both construction and permanent financing at Application. Commitment letters must state the loan amount, interest rate, term, debt service coverage ratio, amortization period, borrower fees, collateral, and conditions precedent, and be signed by both an authorized lender representative and the borrower; syndicator commitment letters must separately state the price per credit, number of pay-ins, percentage of partnership, and construction-period availability. A permanent commitment's interest rate must be fixed and locked at Application -- if it isn't, the Applicant must instead document a rate ceiling, and OHFA will underwrite the deal at that ceiling rate rather than at whatever rate might later be locked, which can materially reduce the feasible credit request compared to underwriting off a locked rate. The minimum debt service coverage ratio is 1.20 for most debt (1.15 for Developments receiving Federal Rental Assistance), and it must be maintained, without rounding, to four decimal places across all fifteen years of the pro forma -- "No negative cash flow is allowed in any year."

One more due-diligence item belongs in this phase even though it concerns the operator rather than the site itself: the proposed Management Company must be "licensed with the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission at the time of application and through the extended use period, or meet applicable OREC exemptions as defined by Title 59 Section 858-301," and that licensing status is itself a documentation requirement under the same Capacity threshold that also covers Development Team experience.

Where this goes wrong

  • Assuming Oklahoma's AHTC program requires a Phase I Environmental Site Assessment, a floodplain determination, or a wetlands review as a Threshold item -- none of these terms appears anywhere in the 2026 Application Instructions or the Chapter 36 Rules; environmental due diligence on an Oklahoma AHTC deal is driven by the lender's or syndicator's own requirements, not OHFA's.
  • Assuming a HOME-layered Oklahoma Development is automatically exempt from federal environmental review just because the AHTC Threshold Criteria don't mention it -- a Development also drawing OHFA HOME funds or another federally assisted source should expect Executive Order 11988/24 CFR Part 55 floodplain review through that funding source; this was not independently confirmed against OHFA's own HOME program materials in this research pass.
  • Assuming Site Control must remain in force through a specific later milestone (Carryover, Final Application, Placed-in-Service) the way some other states' QAPs spell out -- OHFA's Application Instructions require Site Control only "at the time of Application"; no explicit post-Application duration requirement was found in this research, and Applicants should confirm directly with OHFA.
  • Treating any option to purchase as satisfying Site Control regardless of its terms -- the Rules definition (330:36-1-4) requires the option be "not revocable on the part of the seller," and states plainly that "OHFA alone will decide" whether Site Control has been obtained.
  • Submitting a Capital Needs Assessment older than 18 months, or attempting to submit an "updated" CNA in place of a fresh one -- Attachment #10 states explicitly that updates are not allowed.
  • Missing the acquisition ten-year placed-in-service rule's exceptions -- it does not apply to federally or State-assisted buildings, or to any building assisted, financed, or operated by HUD or USDA/RHS.
  • Underestimating the minimum rehabilitation investment threshold -- it is the greater of $30,000 in hard costs per unit or 20% of Eligible Basis, not a flat per-unit figure.
  • Submitting commitment letters missing any of OHFA's required terms -- loan amount, interest rate, term, debt service coverage ratio, amortization period, borrower fees, collateral, and conditions precedent must all appear in the letter itself, signed by both lender and borrower.
  • Assuming a floating or unlocked interest rate is acceptable as long as a rate ceiling is documented -- OHFA will underwrite at that ceiling rate, which can materially reduce the feasible credit request compared to underwriting at a locked rate.
  • Forgetting the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission licensing requirement for the proposed Management Company -- required at the time of Application and through the entire extended use period, unless an OREC exemption under Title 59 § 858-301 applies.

At a glance

Governing Threshold item
Threshold Criteria item 7, Readiness to Proceed -- bundles Site Control, zoning documentation, and preliminary plans
Site Control instruments accepted
Deed/conveyance, purchase contract, non-revocable option to purchase, or a lease exceeding the term of affordability (Rules: exceeding the Extended Use Period)
Who decides if Site Control is met
"OHFA alone will decide if an Applicant or Owner has obtained Site Control" (Chapter 36 Rules, 330:36-1-4)
Post-Application Site Control duration
Not specified in the 2026 QAP or Chapter 36 Rules text reviewed -- confirm directly with OHFA
Environmental review requirement in the AHTC QAP/Rules
None found -- no Phase I ESA, floodplain, wetlands, or NEPA reference anywhere in either document
Acquisition/Rehab appraisal
Independent third-party MAI Appraiser operating in Oklahoma; no more than 12 months old; caps eligible acquisition price at "as is" value
Acquisition 10-year rule
At least 10 years between prior placed-in-service date and acquisition date; waived for federally/State-assisted or HUD/USDA-RHS buildings
Capital Needs Assessment (CNA)
Independent third-party architect/engineer/contractor; no more than 18 months old; "Updates are not allowed"; required for all Rehabilitation Applications
Minimum rehabilitation investment
Greater of $30,000 hard cost per unit or 20% of Eligible Basis
Minimum debt service coverage ratio
1.20 generally (1.15 for Federal Rental Assistance developments), all 15 pro forma years, to 4 decimal places, no rounding
Management company licensing
Oklahoma Real Estate Commission license (or Title 59 § 858-301 exemption) required at Application and through the Extended Use Period

Governing authority

  • Readiness to Proceed threshold and Site Control instrument list2026 QAP, Threshold Criteria item 7, Readiness to Proceed
  • Site Control definition and OHFA's sole discretionOHFA Chapter 36 Rules, Title 330, § 330:36-1-4, Definitions ("Site Control") -- text confirmed identical in both the 2018-effective and the current 2023-effective versions of the Rules
  • Readiness to Proceed factors under the RulesOHFA Chapter 36 Rules, Title 330, § 330:36-4-2(b)(7) -- text confirmed identical in both the 2018-effective and the current 2023-effective versions of the Rules
  • Environmental/lender-syndicator pass-through clause2026 QAP, Attachment C, Program Underwriting Standards, introductory paragraph
  • Federal floodplain management (applicable via layered federal funding, not the AHTC threshold itself)Exec. Order No. 11988; 24 C.F.R. Part 55
  • Funding-source checklist including OHFA HOME/RHS2026 AHTC Application Form, AHTC Program Application Summary, "Funding sources"
  • Acquisition Credits threshold and 10-year rule2026 QAP, Threshold Criteria item 5, Acquisition Credits
  • "As is" appraisal caps acquisition price2026 QAP, Attachment C, Program Underwriting Standards, "Appraisals in Acquisition/Substantial Rehabilitation Properties"
  • Capital Needs Assessment requirements2026 QAP, Threshold Criteria item 10, Capital Needs Assessment; Attachment #10, Capital Needs Assessment Certification
  • Minimum rehabilitation investment threshold2026 QAP, Attachment C, Program Underwriting Standards, "Minimum Rehabilitation Cost per Unit"
  • Financial Feasibility and Viability threshold, commitment letter and DCR requirements2026 QAP, Threshold Criteria item 6; Attachment C, Program Underwriting Standards, "Debt Coverage Ratio," "Projections and Pro-Formas"
  • Management Company OREC licensing requirement2026 QAP, Threshold Criteria item 3, Capacity and Prior Performance, "Management Experience"; Title 59 O.S. § 858-301

See this phase modeled on your own site

Book a demo and we'll walk through it live, or get a quote for your team.