Skip to content

Cost, construction type, and the labor package — Montana

Phase 6 of 11

"What actually caps my total development cost and developer fee in Montana, what design and energy standards does MBOH require in a state with this kind of winter climate, and does Montana's own prevailing-wage law reach a Board of Housing-financed deal?"

Not yet coveredDevelopment Cost Limitations apply at every checkpoint from Pre-Application through Final Cost Certification, not just at Award — the QAP states they apply "to all current Applications and Projects and to all Projects awarded Credits under a prior QAP" (2027 QAP Section VIII.G), so a cost overrun discovered well after award can still trigger a waiver requirement.

The cost ceiling: one hard number, not a formula

Montana doesn't size the cost cap off the round's average request or a published per-square-foot schedule the way some states do. Instead: "Total Project Cost may not exceed $395,000 per Unit (Total Project Cost Per Unit Limit) unless and to the extent that Owner obtains a waiver from the MBOH Board" (2027 QAP Section VIII.G.1). The waiver trigger isn't limited to the initial Application — a Project that starts under the cap but later increases past it, or that increases 20% or more in Total Project Cost per Unit from the time of Award, must separately request a Board waiver each time.

A softer notification duty sits below the waiver threshold: any increase greater than 10% in Total Project Cost per Unit from the amount at Award must be disclosed and explained to MBOH in the Quarterly Report for the period in which it occurs, and "failure to notify and explain such cost increases to MBOH may result in being ineligible for a waiver" later — the QAP treats the notification duty and the waiver eligibility as linked, not independent obligations.

The limit itself follows the deal across QAP cycles rather than resetting: "All Development Cost Limitations in this QAP will apply to all current Applications and Projects and to all Projects awarded Credits under a prior QAP. In the event a more favorable limit was used in a prior QAP the project ... will be allowed to use it" (2027 QAP Section VIII.G). A Project can elect to keep an older, more generous per-unit cap from the QAP under which it was actually awarded, but the current QAP's other limitations otherwise reach backward onto every open Project regardless of award year.

Meeting the $395,000 cap does not end MBOH's cost review — the QAP is explicit that "even for those projects meeting specific QAP limitations, MBOH will evaluate cost per Unit and cost per square foot for all Projects for reasonableness," and "MBOH may decline to Award Credits to a Project where it determines that costs do not reflect the optimal use of Housing Credits" (2027 QAP Section VIII.G.1). A separate Community Service Facility cost exclusion lets qualifying community-service space be backed out of the per-unit calculation, subject to a specific documentation and CPA-certification process the Applicant must agree to in advance.

Builder and developer fee caps: independent percentages, not a combined ceiling

Additional Cost Limitations (2027 QAP Section VIII.G.2) — each is its own independent maximum
Cost itemCapBase
Builder's Overhead2%Construction Costs
General Requirements6%Construction Costs
Builder Profit6%Construction Costs
Developer Fees15%Total Project Cost (excluding Developer Fees, Project reserves, and land costs)

Unlike some states' QAPs, Montana's text does not state a combined ceiling on the sum of Builder's Overhead, General Requirements, and Builder Profit together — each is worded as its own independent maximum against Construction Costs. Don't assume a state-specific aggregate cap exists here without confirming with MBOH; the QAP's text as reviewed for this guide does not state one.

The Developer Fee definition is broad on what counts against the 15% cap: HC Consultant fees "must be disclosed" and "will be included as part of and subject to the limit on Developer Fees." Architectural, engineering, and legal services, by contrast, "are considered to be professional services, and fees for such services are not included as Developer Fees for purposes of this limitation" (2027 QAP Section VIII.G.2) — a Development Team that mislabels a consulting arrangement to keep it out of the Developer Fee bucket risks having MBOH recharacterize it during cost review.

Related-party transactions get their own disclosure duty layered on top of the fee caps: "Applicants and Owners must disclose all transactions with Related Parties; failure to do so may result in the Project not receiving an Award," and MBOH "may reduce Developer Fees, Builder Profit or other Soft Costs on Projects involving Related Party transactions" — a related-party general contractor or consultant arrangement doesn't automatically violate the caps, but it does expose the deal to a discretionary MBOH reduction the arms-length equivalent wouldn't face.

Soft cost ratio and the substantial rehabilitation floor

The Soft-Cost-to-Hard-Cost Ratio may not exceed "40% for 9% or 45% for 4% or Twinned Projects," measured against the Application's Proforma (Excel) (2027 QAP Section VIII.G.2). An Application over the applicable ratio must justify the excess in a narrative, and if MBOH doesn't accept the justification, the Applicant gets exactly ten business days to specify in writing how and by how much Soft Costs will be reduced — miss that window and "MBOH will return the Application." This limit is checked at Pre-Application, Full-Application, 10% Cost Certification, and Final Cost Certification, not just once at the front end, and a Board waiver is available case-by-case.

For Acquisition/Rehabilitation and Rehabilitation Projects, the Substantial Rehabilitation Standard requires "$50,000 of Hard Cost Per Unit for 9% & 4% Projects," with a staff discretionary waiver available for newer-construction Acq/Rehab projects seeking a lesser per-unit amount. Rehabilitation Projects must separately meet all Capital Needs Assessment requirements and include a unit-by-unit list of items to be replaced, refinished, repaired, or upgraded (2027 QAP Section VIII.B).

Design and accessibility: a 5% fully-accessible-unit floor that exceeds the federal minimum

Montana's Design Requirements Appendix sets its own accessibility floor above the federal Section 504 baseline: "At least 5% of Project total number of Units must be 'accessible' as defined in the International Building Code (IBC) AND THE ADOPTED ICC A117.1 as well as the applicable adopted governing code; even when project funding does not require section 504 compliance." The QAP is explicit that this exceeds the ordinary code baseline: for new construction, "5% of the overall unit count is to be a fully accessible unit not just a Type A design" (2027 QAP Appendix B, "Project Accessibility Requirements").

Selected Type A/B and adaptability requirements (2027 QAP Appendix B)
RequirementDetail
Door/opening width36" wide doors and cased/drywall openings at all Units and Common Area doors at every level (limited exceptions for closets/pantries)
Blocking for grab barsRequired in all bathrooms regardless of building location, for future installation
Door hardwareLever hardware with push-button locking required at all Units (deadbolts allowed only at dwelling entry/patio doors)
Type B unit floor limitationGround floor only if no elevator present; if an elevator serves the building, all Units on all levels it accesses must be Type B
Removable cabinets (Type B)Required at kitchen sink, kitchen workspace, and bathroom lavatory locations for future reasonable-accommodation modification
No-step entryRequired at all building entries, patios, and decks unless site impracticality is architect-verified under IBC

These requirements apply to "all current Applications and Projects and to all Projects awarded Credits under a QAP for 2025 or later" (2027 QAP Appendix B) — they reach backward onto recently-awarded deals, not just new Applications. A waiver may be requested in writing with substantial-good-cause documentation, except where the Appendix states otherwise.

Green building and energy: pick a specific standard, then get architect-certified

Unlike a pledge-and-photograph approach, Montana's Green Initiatives requirement forces a specific, binary choice among named standards, verified by sign-off rather than third-party certification review. For new construction, the Applicant must "choose 1 of the following 3": building envelope components (windows, doors, insulation) exceeding the adopted IECC by 5% in each category; Energy Star Certification under the current Energy Star Homes Program; or Enterprise Green Communities certification (2027 QAP Appendix B, "Green Initiatives — Energy Conservation").

For Rehabilitation, the choice narrows to two energy-testing protocols rather than a design-standard election: a Blower Door test verifying 50% of units meet the adopted Montana IECC air-changes-per-hour level, with MBOH staff entitled to observe the testing, or an Infrared test on 50% of units before and after work, with before/after reports submitted to MBOH within 30 days. Whichever path is elected, "the architect and the Owner must each certify the Project ... that indicates all mandatory and discretionary work is completed and installed" at Project completion (2027 QAP Appendix B, "Certification") — Montana verifies its green requirement through this architect/owner sign-off rather than requiring a formal outside certification body's stamp.

Mandatory healthy-interior and durability requirements — not elective (2027 QAP Appendix B)
RequirementStandard
Passive radon systemRequired in every Project at minimum, with compliance documentation from an accredited Radon Mitigation Specialist
Smoke-free policyWritten no-smoking policy and lease clause required for all Units and indoor Common Areas at every Project
Interior paints/coatings/adhesivesVOC content at or below the current SCAQMD 1113 (paints) or SCAQMD 1168 (adhesives/sealants) thresholds; wall paints CDPH-verified; wallpaper phthalate-free
Lead-based paintMust comply with HUD's Lead Safe Housing Rule, 24 CFR Part 35, with certified Abatement Contractor documentation
AsbestosMost restrictive of NESHAP (40 CFR Part 61), ARM Title 17 Ch. 74 Subch. 3, or MCA Title 75 Ch. 2 Part 5 applies
Flooring durabilityHard surfaces: 12 mm minimum wear layer, FloorScore certified; carpet: 26 oz. minimum face weight, Green Label Plus certified — "No exceptions will be considered for flooring"

What the QAP never says: prevailing wage

A full-text review of the adopted 2027 QAP found zero occurrences of "prevailing wage," "Davis-Bacon," or "labor standards" anywhere in the document. Neither the underwriting standards, the Development Cost Limitations, nor the Threshold Requirements reference a wage requirement of any kind — a developer relying only on the QAP for labor-cost planning will find nothing there on the subject either way.

Montana does have its own state prevailing-wage statute — sometimes called Montana's "Little Davis-Bacon" law — codified at Mont. Code Ann. §§ 18-2-401 through 18-2-432. Its core "public works contract" trigger, defined at § 18-2-401, reaches contracts "let by the state, county, municipality, school district, or political subdivision" over $25,000 — a privately-owned LIHTC deal, standing alone, is not itself let by one of those government bodies and so would not appear to be a "public works contract" on that definition alone.

A separate provision, however, reaches beyond true public works contracts to certain bond-financed private projects: "A contract, other than a public works contract, let for a project costing more than $25,000 and financed from the proceeds of bonds issued under Title 17, chapter 5, part 15, or Title 90, chapter 5 or 7, must contain a provision requiring the contractor to pay the standard prevailing wage rate ... unless the contractor performing the work has entered into a collective bargaining agreement covering the work to be performed" (Mont. Code Ann. § 18-2-403(7)). Montana's own Board of Housing Act — the statute under which MBOH issues its conduit bonds for the 4% program — is codified at Title 90, Chapter 6, not Chapter 5 or Chapter 7. On the statute's plain text as reviewed for this guide, MBOH's own housing bonds are not among the bond authorities § 18-2-403(7) names.

This is a textual reading of the statute, not a legal determination, and this research could not locate any Montana Department of Labor & Industry guidance, case law, or MBOH program document that directly addresses whether a Board of Housing-financed 4% deal is treated as reaching prevailing wage through some other cross-reference not captured in this review. Treat the question as genuinely open and confirm it with Montana counsel or the DLI's Compliance and Investigations Bureau before pricing a 4% deal's labor costs either with or without Montana prevailing wage built in.

Separately, federal Davis-Bacon obligations can still attach through the funding source rather than through Montana's own statute — most commonly when HOME or National Housing Trust Fund dollars are layered into a deal (see Phase 7 of this guide for how those federal programs are administered in Montana). That federal trigger runs independently of whatever Montana's own state law does or doesn't require.

Where this goes wrong

  • Assuming Montana sizes its cost cap off the round's average request or a per-square-foot table. It's a flat $395,000 Total Project Cost-per-unit ceiling, waivable only by the MBOH Board (2027 QAP Section VIII.G.1).
  • Treating the 10%-cost-increase notification duty as separate from waiver eligibility. Failing to notify and explain an increase over 10% "may result in being ineligible for a waiver" later — the two are linked, not independent.
  • Assuming Builder's Overhead (2%), General Requirements (6%), and Builder Profit (6%) combine under one aggregate cap the way some other states structure this. Montana's QAP text states each as its own independent maximum against Construction Costs, with no combined ceiling stated.
  • Excluding HC Consultant fees from the 15% Developer Fee cap. The QAP requires them disclosed and includes them within the Developer Fee limit — only architectural, engineering, and legal fees are carved out as professional services.
  • Missing the ten-business-day window to specify Soft Cost reductions once MBOH rejects a narrative justification for exceeding the 40%/45% Soft-Cost-to-Hard-Cost Ratio. Miss it and "MBOH will return the Application."
  • Treating the 5% fully-accessible-unit requirement as satisfied by ordinary Type A units. The QAP is explicit this exceeds Type A design — it requires fully accessible units, and applies even when Section 504 compliance isn't otherwise triggered by the funding source.
  • Assuming the Design Requirements Appendix only binds new Applications. It expressly applies to "all Projects awarded Credits under a QAP for 2025 or later" — a deal already awarded can still be reached by a later design requirement.
  • Treating Montana's green building election as a certification pledge documented with photos, the way some states allow. Montana requires choosing a specific, named standard (IECC+5%, Energy Star Homes, or Enterprise Green Communities for new construction; Blower Door or Infrared testing for rehab) and an architect/owner completion certification.
  • Assuming a passive radon system or smoke-free policy is elective. Both are mandatory minimums in every Project regardless of the green-building election made.
  • Concluding from the QAP's total silence on prevailing wage that Montana's own state prevailing-wage law categorically doesn't reach a 4% bond deal. Mont. Code Ann. § 18-2-403(7) extends prevailing wage to certain bond-financed private contracts — whether MBOH's own Title 90, Chapter 6 bond authority falls inside or outside that provision's named chapters (Title 90, Chapter 5 or 7) is not resolved by the statute's plain text and should be confirmed directly with counsel or Montana DLI.
  • Assuming federal Davis-Bacon is automatically off the table just because Montana's own prevailing-wage statute doesn't clearly reach the deal. A federal trigger can still attach independently if HOME or National Housing Trust Fund dollars are layered into the capital stack.

At a glance

Governing document
2027 Qualified Allocation Plan (Governor-approved November 2025) — confirmed current as of this research
Total Project Cost Per Unit Limit
$395,000, waivable by the MBOH Board (Section VIII.G.1)
Cost-increase waiver trigger
Any increase pushing TPC/unit over $395,000, or a 20%+ TPC/unit increase from Award
Cost-increase notification trigger
10%+ TPC/unit increase from Award, disclosed in the Quarterly Report
Builder's Overhead cap
2% of Construction Costs
General Requirements cap
6% of Construction Costs
Builder Profit cap
6% of Construction Costs
Developer Fee cap
15% of Total Project Cost (excludes Developer Fees, reserves, land); includes HC Consultant fees, excludes professional services
Soft-Cost-to-Hard-Cost Ratio
40% (9%) or 45% (4% or Twinned Projects)
Substantial Rehabilitation Standard
$50,000 Hard Cost per unit (9% and 4%), staff waiver available for newer-construction Acq/Rehab
Accessible unit floor
5% of total units fully accessible (exceeds Type A/Section 504 baseline)
New construction green election
One of: IECC+5% envelope, Energy Star Homes Certification, or Enterprise Green Communities certification
Rehab green election
One of: Blower Door test (50% of units) or Infrared test (50% of units, before/after)
Mandatory regardless of election
Passive radon system and a written smoke-free policy, in every Project
Prevailing wage in the QAP
Zero occurrences of "prevailing wage" or "Davis-Bacon" anywhere in the 2027 QAP's text
Montana's own prevailing-wage statute
Mont. Code Ann. §§ 18-2-401–18-2-432; bond-financed-project trigger at § 18-2-403(7) names Title 90, Chapter 5 or 7 — not MBOH's own Chapter 6 bond authority

Governing authority

  • Total Project Cost Per Unit Limit, waiver triggers, and cost-reasonableness review2027 QAP Section VIII.G.1
  • Development Cost Limitations apply prospectively and retroactively; prior-QAP grandfather clause2027 QAP Section VIII.G (introductory paragraph)
  • Builder's Overhead, General Requirements, Builder Profit, Developer Fee, Related Party disclosure, and Soft Cost Ratio caps2027 QAP Section VIII.G.2
  • Substantial Rehabilitation Standard2027 QAP Section VIII.B
  • Project Accessibility, Adaptability, Type B, and Visitable Requirements2027 QAP Appendix B, "Design Requirements"
  • Green Initiatives — Energy Conservation election (new construction and rehabilitation)2027 QAP Appendix B, "Green Initiatives"
  • Healthy Interior Environment, radon, lead, and asbestos requirements2027 QAP Appendix B, "Project Liveability Requirements"
  • Flooring and cabinet durability standards2027 QAP Appendix B, "Durability"
  • Architect/Owner completion certification2027 QAP Appendix B, "Certification"
  • "Public works contract" definitionMont. Code Ann. § 18-2-401
  • Prevailing wage requirement for public works and certain bond-financed contractsMont. Code Ann. § 18-2-403, especially subsection (7)
  • Full-text search confirming no prevailing-wage or Davis-Bacon reference in the QAP2027 Qualified Allocation Plan (full document review, this research)

See this phase modeled on your own site

Book a demo and we'll walk through it live, or get a quote for your team.